Is A Name Just A Name?

My wife and I are having a hard time agreeing on names for our future kids. What makes it more stressful is that my wife is almost four months pregnant and that future kid of ours is on its way. We don’t yet know if it is a boy or a girl (notice the “it”), but numerous people think that for some reason or another we are having a boy. Which would be fine for me, so long as I have a girl at some point also. I always thought that I would name my kids meaningful and unique names. I’ve recently began to change my mind. Studies have shown that kids whose names are odd are less likely to obtain good jobs and do well in their careers. Other studies have shown that kids with odd or different names tend to come from lower income families. Part of the obstacle for kids with unique names may be driven by prejudices; part of it may be fear of the unknown. Yet my kids will have my surname, a Spanish name – I wonder how and if that will affect them on paper as they grow older? Nonetheless, I am convinced that I should probably name our kid, whether boy or girl, a name that other people out there have. I guess I’ll save the unique names for our pets.  

Leave a Reply

