A Million Bucks

A million bucks is not what it used to be, and it will be even less in the years to come. With that in mind, I have recently decided that I want to be a millionare by the time I am forty years old. That gives me plenty of time. And I don’t mean a million in illiquid assets, either, like having money tied up in my house, etc. I want a million bucks that I can invest and live off of. It’s true that it takes money to make money, and the more that I have, the more I should be able to make. But that is not the sole reason alone for this goal of mine. Sure, it would be nice to never have to worry about money, have no debt, and be able to live nicely (not to mention pay the $7,307 ConEd bill I mistakenly received yesterday). Part of the reason why I believe that having money would be a good thing is because it would allow my wife and I the opportunity to serve others, especially within our church, without the burden of being tied down to a permanent full-time job just to pay the bills. Having the ability to devote one’s life to something they feel passionately about and something that is proven to make a positive difference in people’s lives is what many people dream about. My problem is that the only ways I’ve thought of to make money is to work hard and devote the next fifteen years of my life to the legal and corporate details that tend to not make a positive difference in people’s lives. The irony of this is quite funny.

Leave a Reply

