My Vote for 2008

I am not a politician and do not count politics as a hobby of mine. But I nonetheless find myself following political news, especially the currently heated debate about the race for the White House in 2008. Never before can I remember so much hype so early. We barely entered 2007 and you would think that the election was less than a year away. Maybe it is because I’m older and am more settled in my opinions, but there is finally a potential presidential candidate that I feel supporting – Mitt Romney. I have voted for both parties at different times and do not pledge allegiance to any party. I am impressed with and like Obama and think he could be good for this country. But I am more impressed with Romney, his leadership skills, business background, and sound values. It is far too early to tell who will win the Republican and Democratic ticket, but I am just happy to know that it could be someone I feel good supporting, as opposed to choosing who I thought was the lesser evil, as in recent presidential elections.

One Response

  1. On February 8, 2007, the New York Times ran an article on Mitt Romney and his faith – he is an active Mormon. The article received over 500 comments from people around the country by mid afternoon. Even I commented on the article, which I don’t usually do (see below for my response). I still like Mitt and am interested in seeing how far he makes it in the race for the Republican nomination, but it’s likely that hatred and fear of his misinterpreted religion will unfortunately end his hopes for the office of the president. As such, is this a sad commentary on the state of the U.S. in 2007 or is there really that much to be worried about if a Mormon was president?

    My response to the February 8, 2007 NYT article:
    There is no doubt that the Mormon faith is unique from other Christian denominations in its beliefs (to say the least). But I know many Mormons, and they are some of the brightest, kind, and most sensible people I know. It must be remembered that this question was posed to an audience of NY Times readers that would not likely vote for a conservative candidate anyway, regardless of who he/she was. Pose this question online to another audience in a different part of the country and the response would be different. I agree that Romney has an uphill battle to the White House partly because of his faith, but I think that he should be looked at in light of the issues and not his faith. Once one seriously does that, Romney comes across as a strong candidate to be our next president.

Leave a Reply

