Law of Not?

It’s interesting to think that I am working as a lawyer. I don’t even feel like I use, let alone know the law. After being immersed in laws and rules through three years of law school and a grueling two months studying for the bar exam, I am now free from cases and the minutia of the law. Yet I am doing what I thought I wanted to try. The good news, I guess, is that I do not feel as if I miss the law, with its neverending rules of objective reasonableness. Sadly, though, regardless of how I would classify what I’m doing now, the bottom line is that I don’t know if I have it in me to do it forever (but is there anything I could really do “forever”?). I have learned a lot and enjoy it for now, but I have other dreams. The key is timing, preparation, persistence and believing in myself. I can do whatever I want in life. And when I find what that is, I will never have to “work” another day again.  

Leave a Reply

