Cruising

I like to think that I have done a good amount of traveling in my life. Of course, there are too many places I have yet to visit, but that is true for the vast majority of people. One thing I have wanted to do for a long time, however, is to take a cruise. Absent a tragedy while on board, I have hardly heard of a bad experience someone had while on a cruise, regardless of where in the world they went.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to be able to have the time to take one of those three-month cruises around the world? To sit on deck with nothing but ocean as far as the eye can see, while absorbing that time of day when the weather cools off but the sun has not yet set, and to read or talk with the one you love – now that would be the life. To visit ports-of-call from Goa to Kona to Cape Town. Imagine that.

Perhaps it could be possible one day – it only requires time and money, two commodities that many people continually wish for more of. The question is not if to do it, but rather when to do it. Is it more practical to save money and hang on to that security for retirement, kids’ college tuition, etc. or am I better off spending the money in exchange for perhaps one of the most memorable experiences of my life? Of course, this question applies to much more than whether or not to take a cruise. Let’s hope that once I have more resources I have the brains to enjoy myself while having the wisdom to leave something more to come home to. After all, life is about more than cruises to Singapore.

Leave a Reply

