Is Abroad Better?

The question I’m struggling with now is whether spending time working overseas would be beneficial to my career. Don’t get me wrong, I am interested in going abroad, but have heard mix responses from various people as to the benefits of becoming an expat. I am currently working in the largest and most competitive legal market in the U.S. (if not the world) and know that there is no substitute for this city anywhere in the business world. But that seems to be changing somewhat, even if the change is slow. There seem to be opportunities overseas that will allow someone to save a lot of money because the company will cover housing and  children’s private school tuition in addition to providing great perks and good compensation. But how easy are those jobs to get? And is it really the best move for my family? Maybe I can be in a position to travel with my work while based in the U.S. and benefit from the best of both worlds. This has been on my mind a lot lately, with my first child coming in four months and my wife’s career about to take off. For the past several years I have always seen myself moving overseas. Now, I am starting to rethink the whole plan. The bottom line, I think, is this: if the benefits outweigh the costs, I can likely convince my wife to go. Until I can receive that type of offer, we’ll enjoy our life in the U.S. of A.    

Leave a Reply

