Thinking For A Change

We too often go through life without thinking. Of course, we must make numerous decisions and take countless actions daily, all of which require us to think. But I’m talking about really sitting down and thinking. Take my life for example. I get up, get ready and start my commute into work. I have my music on my headphones and a book in front of me on the train. At work, I think about what I must do at work to make my partner and clients happy and to get the deal done. After I commute back home, any free time I may have is often spent in front of the television, assuming I’m not running any errands or doing other household chores that constantly need to be done. Then, before I know it, it’s time for me to go back to sleep. Sure, I must think throughout the course of the day. But when was the last time I sat down somewhere with no music, tv, or other noise, focused my attention and thought? It has been a while. 

We all have the same amount of time each day as anyone else. Yet, some of us accomplish so much more in life. The key to success, I think, comes down to two things: one’s attitude and thoughts. These, above everything else, can help us overcome obstacles and lack of natural talent or formal education. It’s not a difficult concept, but few people do it. The reason? Well, I believe that it is because thinking requires someone to think, which is not as easy as it may seem.  

Leave a Reply

