From This School . . .

“You mark that word, and from this school, I’ll tell you, will go men and women whose influence will be felt for good towards the establishment of peace internationally.”

The above phrase is one I heard constantly while in college. In fact, it may as well be the guiding light of the entire campus. In the school’s groundbreaking ceremony in 1955 the then leader of the organization sponsoring the school declared these words in a solemn address to the small group of administrators, professors and students then assembled. For me personally, it’s been almost seven years since I first set foot on the campus in Hawaii, far from anything I was then used to or familiar with. My horizons have since expanded tremendously. But I ask the question, what am I doing now to establish peace internationally? I’m currently working on an international deal for work involving our client’s London office, a Mexican company, and future debt securities to be listed on the Irish Stock Exchange. International? Yes. Peace promoting? Probably not. And so what do I do, and will I ever be a part of the broad vision articulated by David O. McKay?

To briefly answer my own question, I must first state, to be fair, that establishing peace internationally does not mean resolving civil unrest in Somalia or single-handedly settling the threat in North Korea. No, establishing peace internationally, as envisioned in the above statement means helping people understand others’ differences, becoming aware of international issues and problems with a view to helping understand and resolve them, and even learning to sympathize with those different them yourself, at home or abroad. Notice that the statement does not specifically say “international peace”, but rather “peace internationally”, the type of peace that can come on an individual basis, one person at a time across the globe.

This, I believe, is at least a part of what McKay meant in 1955. My influence has gone forward from this place, and only time will tell whether my influence will one day be felt for good towards the establishment of peace internationally. After all, as a graduate of that unique school on the North Shore, I am included in the above forecast

Leave a Reply

