Should We Be More Connected or More Concerned?

I recently added the ClustrMap to my right sidebar in the hopes that someone outside of New York will view my blog once in a while. The idea that I will be able to track the general location of the computer that accessed this site is incredible. Are we becoming too connected? The past few days has included news regarding the ten hour BlackBerry outage earlier this week. I was expecting some emails the night of the outage and was surprised when nothing came, not knowing that there was a general outage across the country. When I woke up early the next morning, the first thing I did was look at my BlackBerry. Nothing. Images of the deal falling apart over night were my first thoughts. Is this a pathetic commentary? I can’t go more than ten hours without obsessing over what emails I received. Some of it comes with the nature of being an attorney in New York. Some of it is our increasingly connected and electronic culture. And some of it, admittedly, may have to do with feeling important (similar to when you receive tons of mail in one day despite most of it being junk mail).

As for our increasingly connected culture, I remember a time when I left my apartment only concerned that I had my wallet. Now, I must leave my apartment concerned that I have my wallet, cell phone, BlackBerry, iPod and something to read. I clearly remember sending my first email ever in the summer of 1997, right after I had graduated from high school. Today, I couldn’t live without it, and the recent BlackBerry outage proves it. A ten hour drought stresses me out. Again, is this a sad commentary or what?

2 Responses

  1. I just love this one. And this is my first reading here. Good job Jer!

  2. “The idea that I will be able to track the general location of the computer that accessed this site is incredible.” is a scary idea.

    “I can’t go more than ten hours without obsessing over what emails I received.” more and more people are experiencing this new type of addiction including myself.

    “Today, I couldn’t live without it, and the recent BlackBerry outage proves it.” maybe you should switch to Blackjack. I wasn’t influenced by the outage.

Leave a Reply

