Mother’s Day, Again

Mother’s Day has not been the same for me the past thirteen years. Ever since my mother passed away in 1994, I have had no mother to celebrate on the second Sunday of May each year. I have had a stepmom, but it is not quite the same. The Mother’s Day cards I have sent in the past decade have mostly been to my Grandma on my mother’s side. This year, for the first time since 1995, Mother’s Day is beginning to take on a whole new meaning. Granted Mother’s Day did start to look different after I got married because even though my wife was not yet a mother, at least there was a woman in my life that had the potential to be a mother. And it was on that special day each year that I tried to celebrate her.  This weekend is the amended due date of our first child and is also Mother’s Day. If the baby decides to come this Sunday, my wife may be the recipient of the most exhausting and most beautiful Mother’s Day one could ever ask for. I hope the baby comes this weekend, as my wife is finally, at an amazing 38 weeks pregnant, starting to become tired. I hope the baby is healthy. I hope the baby is as beautiful as her mom. Happy Mother’s Day, both to my one and only mother and to my one and only wife, the mother of my first child.

Leave a Reply

