A New York Point of View

It’s interesting living in New York. Like so many other large cities, a large number of people that you meet here are not originally from here, like myself. Yet, once someone has lived here even a short while (including, unbelievably, summer interns), they believe they’re a New Yorker. And that’s just it. Once they start calling themselves a New Yorker to distinguish themselves from all of the obvious tourists, they become almost oblivious to everywhere else, as if other places no longer matter (and take my word, once you have lived here a while, most other places really don’t seem to matter). The only other places in the United States that seem to get any respect from New Yorkers are Washington D.C. and California (the SF & LA California, not the Redding and Fresno California). The remaining people and places in between in this country are merely a part of Flyover Country (Sorry, Yuan).

Now I admit that after living here for three years I do feel in many ways as if I have more in common with people my age living in London, Hong Kong, Paris or Tokyo than in Des Moines, El Paso, Charleston or Butte, despite the linguistic or cultural distinctions, but that is not the point. New Yorkers who live in Manhattan even go as far as to call those that live off the island and commute the Bridge and Tunnel Crowd, referring to the means of transportation used to travel onto the island. Many of these people are the type that know they could take their education and New York working experience to a great job in Dallas and afford to buy a huge house rather than continue to pay their $3800 a month rent for a one-bedroom apartment on East 48th Street. The problem, as these people see it, is that they would then have to live in, say, Dallas, and that would just not cut it after living in New York.

In a sense, I share their sentiment, for I too felt long before I moved here that New York was the place to be and there was no substitute for the city, its people, or its opportunities. But I knew when I moved here (and yes, despite trying to convince my wife otherwise, I am part of the Bridge and Tunnel Crowd) that I would only be here long enough to get through law school and build a foundation that would launch my career. I’m happy to say that law school is now behind me and I hope that the foundation I am building will stand the test of time and open doors for me in the future. All I know is that whenever it is that I leave, I will miss this city for what it is, warts and all. 

Leave a Reply

