Ten Days as a Father

My daughter is now ten days old. Yet, it feels as if she has been here longer, perhaps because she must be watched by one of us almost every minute of the day. She is healthy and is doing well. I expected her to be able to do more, but then I realize that she is only ten days old. I’m sure the talking and moving and laughing will be here soon enough. Tomorrow I go back to work for the first time since she was born and my wife will stay at home alone with her, something she has never done, not only because she has never been a mom before, but because as a doctor, she has hardly had the chance to sit still for the past several years. Staying at home with or without a baby is new to her and the next few weeks could be challenging for her, especially given that she sometimes feels only like a milk factory.

My ten days of fatherhood so far have been interesting. I have tried to help out as much as I could, although I do not have a mother’s touch, not to mention any food, but I have also in some ways tried to continue on with life as I knew it. I want to go to the gym, spend some time reading what books I want, get out to the City, watch some tv – all things that I used to do when my wife was at home or busy at work. Now, however, I can’t just do what I want. Not only would it not be fair to my wife to leave her with the baby full time, but because I have a responsibility and a privilege to help. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy to help and do what I can, but I am beginning to get a glimpse of what my life will be like as she gets older and demands even more time and attention. Looking back I know that my parents made sacrifices for me, and now it is my turn. Life is not always about me. I am a parent now and with that comes the obligation to raise my daughter. I am just glad that I do not have to do it alone. Click here for an updated picture of Hanna Mei.

Leave a Reply

