In Ten Years . . .

I remember hearing the rhetorical question when I graduated from high school of, “Where do you want to be in ten years?” Believe it or not, ten years has passed and I can happily say that I am not off track from where I wanted to be. I am now married to a beautiful woman, have a wonderful daughter, have finished college and law school and have begun a career in corporate law in New York City, have lived in Japan and have become proficient in the Japanese language, have done some world traveling and have overall enjoyed myself and my life the past ten years. What more could I ask for? 

This September is my ten-year high school reunion at Federal Way High School. It is still undetermined whether I will be able to make it or not. My wife feels as though it is too expensive to fly from New York to Seattle for a weekend to attend a bragfest with people that I haven’t seen in the past ten years and may not see again. Frankly, I would like to attend, regardless of the expense or that I might possibly have something to brag about. I would like to attend because when all is said or done, the area I grew up in and the people I went to school with during my youth is comfortable and is home.

Growing up, I was proud of where I was from and even went as far as to say things as: You can take a man out of Federal Way, but you can’t take Federal Way out of the man. On July 26, 1997, ten years ago this month, I moved out of Federal Way and have not moved back since. I have visited, of course, but have not lived there and doubt that I ever will again. I left my home at the age of 18 and have not looked back. And while my youth is well behind me, I was at least hoping to have a moment, even if for a night, to relive it at my high school reunion. And so I pose this question: Would you make an effort to attend your high school reunion and are such reunions worth going to?

Leave a Reply

