Dotcom Madness

I am currently reading an account of how insane the dotcom bubble of the late 1990s was when every start-up online company was pushed to go public within a matter of months whether the company had any profits or not. The worst of it occurred at a time that I was completely out of the loop, so to speak. Why? Because I was in Japan with no exposure to the media or current news. I left for Japan in October of 1998, at a time when President Clinton was on the verge of being impeached, Long-Term Capital Management was exploding and bringing down everyone else with it and the stock market was about to bottom out before starting its glorious rise to the eventual burst in 2000. Admittedly, I pay much more attention to the business and financial news now than I did then, but as someone who followed the news these events were too big to miss, had I not been in Japan. While in Japan, not only was I discouraged from following the daily news and world events, I couldn’t read or understand the news anyway even if I wanted to. By the time I returned to the United States in August, 2000, things had cooled off and were relatively stable until September 11, 2001. Since then, I have been up to date with the various events of the world. But as I look back and read of the events from the fall of 1998 through the fall of 1999, I realize that there was a lot I missed. I’m just glad that I am now going back to catch up.

Leave a Reply

