Freedom

I finished a book recently that will stick with me for a while.  After seeing the book remain one of the best-selling books in the past few months, I was eager to read it for myself. The book is A Thousand Splendid Suns and the author is Khaled Hosseini, the author of the global hit, The Kite Runner. Splendid Suns took my emotions for a ride and left me wanting more. The book also made me grateful for the freedom that I have enjoyed in life. I have been free from war, hunger, sickness, destruction, hate, and evil for all of my life. I have a good family and I have good friends. There is little more that I could have asked for. On a daily basis I think of how to improve the life of me and my wife and daughter and how I can accomplish my goals and get to where I want to be. That attitude has brought me to where I am now, thankfully, but has made me somewhat oblivious on a daily basis to the difficulties people face around the globe. Pardon the sentimental post, but be grateful for what you have. No matter how hard life is for you now, remember that someone always has it worse.

Leave a Reply

