An Eventful Time

In September 2006, my wife and I experienced ten days that were as eventful as some people’s whole year. Starting around the middle of the month, we first discovered that we were pregnant and that we would be having our first child sometime in the spring of 2007. That by itself was a big event for me. A few days later, I received the job offer I was hoping for and accepted it with the intent of starting work by the end of September. Shortly afterwards, my wife was involved in a car accident that totaled our car but miraculously left her (and the baby growing inside her at the time) untouched. We were also hoping to move apartments as soon as I received a new job and had our eye on a newer, larger, nicer apartment building in our neighborhood.

As a result of these events, we had to take action within a short time period. Before I even started work at my new job, we had signed a fifteen-month lease for a new apartment that doubled our rent payment, had signed a three-year lease for a new car that obligated us with a car payment where we didn’t have one before, and we began the long process of searching for that right name for our baby boy or baby girl. At the time, it seemed as if we may have financially signed our life away without knowing what the future might bring. After all, this all happened before I even stepped foot into my office or was even close to receiving my first paycheck.

It has been over one year since all of this, and, looking back, I am pleased with how well things have worked out. My job has been good to me and I have learned a lot in the past year. Our daughter Hanna, born last May 18th is now five months old, is healthy and doing great. The apartment has worked out well and we are considering renewing the lease for at least another twelve months. And the new car has been great to have and beats driving the 1995 model we had since I met my wife. In the end, life has a way of working out when you plan and try to do what is right. I am happy to be where I am.  

Leave a Reply

