Seven Cities

There was a time not long ago when I stood firm about where I would and would not live in my life. I had a list of no more than seven cities in the United States that I would consider to work, play and live. Anywhere outside of those seven cities I had no interest in. The seven were: Boston, New York, Washington D.C., Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle. I might also add a handful of cities outside of the United States, but for me to move me and my family outside of the U.S. would include consideration of more factors than a move from, say, New York to Boston.

Speaking of which, I spent this past weekend before Christmas in Boston and traveled all around the city for a few days. I can see why people like it there. It’s not a large city, but it’s large enough for everyone to find what they’re interested in, especially with the number of universities in the area. On the way back to New York, however, I contemplated whether or not Boston should remain on my list of seven cities, given that it made my list based on what I had heard and knew about the city and not because of my personal experience in Boston. I concluded that it should remain because the opportunities in Boston are plentiful should I ever decide to pursue a career there.

But in thinking of cities in which to live in the future, my mind can’t help but begin to consider cities outside of the seven that have been on my list for the past many years. I have done the New York thing and the New York thing has prevented us from buying a house due to the cost of living. I have a family now and must consider what is best for all of us in the long run. I make no promises and still stand firm as to places that I have absolutely no interest in living, but with time (and maybe maturity) I find myself thinking of the smaller cities and markets as being more attractive if I ever decided to take my New York experience and shop it around. All I can say is that this is a big change from where I was not that long ago.

2 Responses

  1. San Diego is not in the list? It has great weather and opportunities are abundant — though the cost of living is on par with Los Angeles.

  2. […] in the hustle and bustle of the city. In fact, not too long ago I wrote about my city preferences here on this blog. Over time, my mind has not changed regarding living in the rural United States, but […]

Leave a Reply

