Rural Culture

If I had to choose between the two, I am definitely a city person over a country person. I have never had much of a desire to live in the more rural areas of the United States. I do not enjoy being in nature as much as some people and would prefer to be in the hustle and bustle of the city. In fact, not too long ago I wrote about my city preferences here on this blog. Over time, my mind has not changed regarding living in the rural United States, but I have come to think that living in a rural area in another country may be enjoyable. For example, I have no desire to live in, say, western Oklahoma. However, living in rural Spain, Japan, Mexico, Thailand or even Brazil is somewhat appealing and could lend itself to a nice lifestyle. Nonetheless, I admit that for the prior sentence to be true, I would have to live affluently, including at the bare minimum being connected to the rest of the world through Internet and access to international shipping companies. In other words, I would not be living like many people in the area live. Some may see this as no more than an expanded vacation, and perhaps it is more of a retirement reality, if not dream, than anything else, but my thoughts remain.

As I have thought as to why this is, the only explanation I can come up with is culture. I do not like the culture of the rural United States. It doesn’t interest me. To be surrounded by the beautiful culture, lifestyle and people of another country and nation somewhere in the world, on the other hand, is much more appealing. Does anyone else feel this way?

One Response

  1. Living in the rural countryside of the United States has no real appeal to me either. To me, it seems rural US does not have a rich culture or history. Whereas, if one lived in rural Japan or Spain, the culture or history of those places seems time-tested and real.

    As I look back from when I lived in Argentina and Japan, I realize that the exoticness of other cutlures is very luring and appealing. One reason I returned to Japan after I lived in Matsuyama resulted from my desire to be closer to a stronger culture than what I experienced in the US. Yet, at the same time, being different all the time becomes old. I now find myself yearning to a return to normal from the exotic. After returning to the US, I bet within a couple of years I will feel that urge to return to a place like Japan or maybe another foreign place like Spain or France. I have got to find a way to balance the desire for exotic with the desire for what is familiar. Do you think it is possible to find a balance between the two? Or will I find myself constantly moving back and forth between the two?

Leave a Reply

