Smooth Jazz No More

I can’t believe that the largest city in the country and one of the jazz centers of the world no longer has a smooth jazz station as of this month. The smooth jazz station I enjoyed in New York City has been replaced with a rock station – in New York City! I was shocked. Smooth jazz is generally described as a genre of music that utilizes instruments traditionally associated with jazz and stylistic influences drawn from mostly R&B, funk and pop. Many purists of jazz frown on the genre despite its success in radio format and its widening appeal around the world. I grew up listening to smooth jazz thanks to my dad. Every time I hear certain songs I often feel as if I am sitting in the passenger seat of his car driving north on I-5 in Seattle. While I have no complaints regarding the radio stations in New York City (there is indeed something for everyone except country music fans), I found myself often listening to smooth jazz on the local station, CD 101.9. Now it’s gone. I’m in New York and have no radio access to smooth jazz. It’s truly a shame.

4 Responses

  1. […] Christy wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhile I have no complaints regarding the radio stations in New York City (there is indeed something for everyone except country music fans), I found myself often listening to smooth jazz on the local station, CD 101.9. Now it’s gone. … […]

  2. You can listen online to Detroit’s favorite Smooth Jazz station: http://www.wvmv.com/Smooth-Jazz-V98-7-Detroit—Online-Radio—Listen-/267867

  3. Jerry, hard to believe I can get more smooth Jazz in backwater Richfield, Utah, than in NYC. That’s because I love XM Satellite Radio. It keeps me sane on those 200+ mile days in my car. Try a mobile unit if you haven’t, you’ll like it. Hope all is well. Interesting blog. Jeff Geigle

  4. I couldn’t believe it myself . Since I’m in New york I loved listening to Cd101.9. I believe now its alternative rock station which I can totally do without. If you feeling that new york vibe feel free to check out my homepage. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

