Dicky Fox

I have always liked the movie Jerry Maguire, the story of a sports agent who one night writes a memo on how the industry should function, gets fired from his job and convinces only one client to stick with him, a wide receiver for the Arizona Cardinals. While there are several memorable characters in the film, one of my favorite characters is Jerry’s mentor, Dicky Fox. Although Dicky is on screen for a total of less than one minute for the entire film, he left a lasting impression on me. When things don’t go as planned, Dicky is shown as a flashback in Jerry’s mind to “Roll with the punches. Tomorrow is another day.” and that “The key to this business is personal relationships.” When we dread facing our everyday struggles, Dicky reminds us of the power of a positive attitude. He says, “I love getting up in the morning. I clap my hands and say, ‘This is gonna be a great day.'” On success, Dicky leaves us with his secret, “In life, to be honest, I failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.” If only we could all strive to be and think more like Dicky when times get tough. Click here for a clip of Dicky.

One Response

  1. This is great. I was looking for a wake up alarm with this clip.

Leave a Reply

