Increasingly Dangerous

Correct me if I’m wrong, as I don’t have the statistics in front of me, but it seems as if natural disasters are on the rise in the past many years. Hundreds of thousands of people have died by natural disasters alone in the past decade (if not more). I have been fortunate thus far in my life in that neither I nor my family have been involved in any serious natural disasters. But it can only be a matter of time before the next random event occurs in or near the area I happen to be residing. The question on many minds, however, is why is the increase in natural disasters occurring? Some see it as a sign of the latter days, a page taken directly form the Book of Revelations. Others believe it is our own doing caused by the damage mankind has inflicted on the world, damage that is rapidly increasing and shows little signs of abating. Still there are those that maintain that an increase in natural disasters is all a part of the earth’s natural cycle and there is nothing that we can do to stop it. Whatever the case may be, it’s chilling to think how much worse it may get if natural disasters continue increasing at the current rate. At some point in my lifetime, it is not extreme to believe that I will experience a natural disaster leading potentially to a breakdown of social order on at least a regional scale, if not nationally. That’s a scary thought. I can only hope that when the time comes I am prepared as best as I can be.

Leave a Reply

