Swiss Happenings

This is day four for me in Switzerland. And yes, there are areas here that are as beautiful as everyone says. I was out of the office the past few days because we were at an offsite event with the group I work with up in the mountains. I couldn’t tell you exactly where in Switzerland we were and I can’t pronounce the name of the mountain, but we had a beautiful two-hour hike (that was harder than I thought it was going to be; they didn’t lie when they say it was a difficult hike) and then spent two days in a cabin on top of the mountain. The first day was full of team-building events and games and the second day was a full day of training, with the only interruption being a short hike to another site to enjoy the view and cook some bratwurst. I feel as if I know my colleagues much better after spending a few days with them up in the mountains and it was a good way to kick off my time at this company.

I am staying in the corporate apartment next to my office, which makes getting to and from work quite convenient, especially since I don’t know where anything else is or how to get around. The people here are nice and I find that they generally understand English, at least the simple English that I use when I speak to them when I buy a sandwich for my dinner each night because I have no idea what else to eat. I have found that no matter what the label says or what the item looks like, each food item here has three things: sliced meat (usually ham or salami), pickles and mayonnaise. I’ll have to lay off the sandwiches for a while when I return to New York. Last night was a breakthrough because I finally discovered how to use the television in our apartment and found that we have access to CNN International, the BBC and CNBC Europe, all of which will make our time in the apartment a little more enjoyable and help us keep up to date when not online in the office.

As for the work, I am learning and feel as if I am starting to get the hang of things. But I still have a long way to go. I am here for two more weeks and then I will be back in New York. There is talk of me and a colleague coming back to Switzerland at the beginning of November for another month and a half, but we both would like to minimize our stay here and think it a bit unnecessary to come back for so long. We’ll see what happens. For now, I need to learn as much as I can and make the best of the next two weeks.

Leave a Reply

