Twenty Years of Friendship

After everything that I had heard about Phoenix – one of the fastest growing cities of the last few decades, great place to live, etc. – I was a bit disappointed with what I experienced this past weekend when I made my first trip there. I flew in to Phoenix to meet a group of friends from my youth to spend a few days enjoying each other’s company and to celebrate one friend in particular that is getting married in March. It was a bachelor party in a sense. Each of us have moved on with our lives compared to the carefree lives we lived in our youth, but the memories and the area of Seattle we grew up in will bind us together forever. Even after many years of separation and sporadic correspondence, we pick up right where we left off.

Thankfully we chose to stay in Scottsdale for the weekend (and not Phoenix) and credit is deserved to the organizer for a successful event. Scottsdale, unlike Phoenix, seemed like a very nice area to live. And from what I saw this past weekend, this country is not in a recession. Everywhere we went was packed with young people – the clubs, the FBR PGA golf tournament, the restaurants – but the crowds may have had something to do with the fact that the weather was great in Arizona when the rest of the country was freezing, the rowdiest golf tournament in the country was being held that weekend, and the local football team was playing in the Super Bowl. We ate, talked, danced and laughed so hard I cried a few times, as I usually do when we’re together. It was definitely a weekend to remember.

At the end of the weekend, though, we all returned to our different lives. We have each grown and changed with age and time, but the loyalty, the bonds and friendship are still there after all these years. There are few people that would cause me to pick up and leave my wife and daughter to fly to Arizona to spend a weekend with. But in the end, I had to be there when we raised our drinks and toasted to our almost twenty-years of friendship and to wish us many more.

Leave a Reply

