Guernsey For The Week

No one would ever guess where in the world I have spent this past week – the Island of Guernsey in the Channel Islands, between France and the United Kingdom. In fact, when I arrived to check in at JFK International Airport, I had to explain that I needed a flight through Gatwick and not Heathrow because I needed to make a connecting flight to Guernsey. “You’re going where?” came the response back from behind the ticket counter. But this European offshore tax haven is home to a good amount of financial services companies and is the reason why I am here. I didn’t know what to expect before I came to Guernsey, but I must say that I have been pleasantly surprised with what I have experienced so far. There is more going on in the main town of St. Peter Port than I thought there would be and it is quite the beautiful place on clear days. Of course, all of this pleasantness in no way means that I am ready to pick up and move here by any means, but spending a week here has been nice. I have been able to enjoy a different and unique part of the U.K. that few people have the chance to. I am off tomorrow morning to London for the weekend and then back to Switzerland for next week before returning home to my family in New York. I doubt I will ever be back here on Guernsey, but I am thankful I got to experience this out of the way, laid-back, sleepy island.

Leave a Reply

