Lost Identity

For the first time in my life I have been the victim of identity fraud. Sort of. I received a call from my credit card company this morning asking whether I had recently purchased several tickets on Delta Air Lines. I stated that I had not, although my credit card apparently had. Trips from Miami to New York, Los Angeles to Philadelphia and even a trip to Hong Kong were booked all with my sixteen digit credit card number, three digit verification number and home address. I spoke with the member of Delta’s fraud department who spotted the suspicious activity and he confirmed that my name was not used. In fact, it was the various names used with the same card number that caused the activity to be spotted in the first place. I have never been uncomfortable using my credit card to make purchases online through legitimate sites, but my personal information was hacked somehow, somewhere. I am happy to say that people were doing their job and I will not be charged for the $3,500 worth of travel that was purchased with my card. Luckily this was caught when it was and it was not worse. I feel bad for those that have to suffer through true identity fraud and the years it takes to piece their life, credit and finances together.

Leave a Reply

