Rise and Shine

I have always been a night person. I grew up that way and it’s how I am wired. But I am trying to change that little by little. I am finding that life with two kids leaves me very little time for myself. With our first child, there was a point each day that she went to sleep, leaving me and my wife time to accomplish what we needed to in the evenings together or on our own. But with two children, not to mention an increasingly busy work schedule, the time I used to have in the evening is dwindling. The need for the time, however, is not. In searching for a time for myself, I found that the only realistic time was early in the morning. I had already been waking up around 5:45 am each weekday morning to get myself ready and off to the train station to get in the office when expected, but the more I studied it, the more I realized that the early morning was the only time I had free. Besides, it was the only time of day when it was calm and quiet at home. I have read of thousands of people who swear that the key to the successes in their life is the personal time they spend each morning. They wake as early as 4:00 am to get a jump start on the day. They use the morning to plan and asses their personal goals, exercise, meditate, read, ponder or write (I woke early this morning to write some thoughts that I had been meaning to, but couldn’t find the time). Some of the most accomplished people in the world are early risers, and it would make sense that they would be. We are not all equal in life. We each have different talents, traits, skills, educations and backgrounds. The only thing that is equal across mankind is the amount of time each person has in one day. How one spends each twenty-hour period, however, varies widely. It will be a struggle for me at times as a night person, but I am starting slowly and will build day by day to waking early and enjoying my personal time prior to the chaos of each day. Once I am used to having my morning time I hope that I won’t be able to live without it. I am aware, though, that this means trying to get to sleep at a reasonable time each evening, which will also be a struggle at times. But for now I am dedicated to waking early and using the time to enrich my life.

Leave a Reply

