Vacation Days

Last week someone from my office returned from Argentina and another colleague is in Italy at the moment. Someone just flew back from Australia a few days ago. Another person in the office has a trip to the Galapagos Islands later in the summer and even others are traveling to China, the Bahamas and Croatia, all on their personal dime for vacation. Even my brother is in Brazil at the moment on vacation. My vacation plans this summer include a short trip to Washington D.C. in a few weeks. It will be enjoyable, but will hardly be the most glamorous of vacations, especially with our two young kids. Later this year we have talked about visiting the exotic locale of Utah, but nothing has been finalized.

My company offers me five weeks of vacation and I am encouraged to use it. I sometimes wish I could. I am dying to get back to Japan and visit Hong Kong and China while I’m over in that part of the world. But in reality, how much emphasis should be put on taking a vacation? Some people refuse to travel, saving money for a day when they hope they can afford to travel while others are out there traveling and making memories when they can. Opinions vary on what the best approach is. I have read that someone should take two relaxing vacations a year. It has been over a year since I have been on a non-work relaxing vacation with family or friends. My wife has not been on a vacation for even longer and the last time we traveled together has been quite a while. I am not advocating traveling when it clearly cannot be afforded, but am merely wondering why if all those around me can do it why can’t we? Should I plan something and surprise my wife for her birthday? Would she be okay with that – the fact that I spent money for vacation purposes? What would we do with the kids? I will try to come up with some ideas and will report my progress as I do so. We need some time off together and her birthday in October presents the perfect opportunity for us to do so. Any ideas would be appreciated.

3 Responses

  1. You should come to utah in october

  2. you should email me so we can talk and catch up

    david.petrell@yahoo.com

  3. My friend is taking his wife and kid to Puerto Rico for vacation at the end of August and beginning of September. He and his family will spend a week on the island and spend another week on a cruise visiting the different Carribean islands. I thought that sounded like cool vacation. New Zealand was one of my favorite places I have ever visited. It is a country that has a lot to offer. Auckland was a unique city and there was a lot of great outdoor stuff you can do.

    I will be interested on what you decide. I will let you know if I hear of anything good.

Leave a Reply

