Three Decades

This is it. Three decades of life are behind me and I have entered number four. I am now 30 years old and there is no turning back. My life so far has been good and I know there are many good days ahead of me. But youth, I feel, has passed me by. I remember when I turned 16, 18, 21, 25 and 28. I was okay with those ages. They were times to celebrate. Youth was synonymous with my life then. But I no longer have a claim to youth like I used to at my age now. There is something about the ‘3’ in front of my age that wards off any notion of youth. But that is my reality now. I can only accept it and go forward. And so I will. However, I will say this – if the next thirty years are as fun, memorable, educational and exciting as the last thirty, I will not be able to ask for nothing more. I just hope they don’t go as fast.

Leave a Reply

