Visiting Milan

I am currently in Switzerland for the fourth time since last September. But I have yet to leave Confoederatio Helvetica, the Latin name for what is now the state of Switzerland, during any of my trips here. That changed this past weekend when I traveled to Milan, Italy. Although I had visited Italy more than six years ago, this was my first trip to Milan. People I asked mentioned that it could be done in a day trip and so that is what I planned. Traveling with some colleagues from work I spent the day in one of the fashion capitals of the world. I strolled the streets of the Golden Triangle and peered into shops where I knew I could not even come close to affording the cheapest item in the store. I walked the ancient streets on my way to the Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle. After exploring the roof and intricate architecture of the Duomo, Milan’s centerpiece and massive cathedral, I admired the beautiful and colorful stained glass windows found inside. And I explored an outdoor marketplace away from the city center where the city’s vibrant immigrant scene was on full display.

Overall it was a fun trip. But I feel no need to go back anytime soon. I got a feel for the city during my short time in Italy and saw a few of the sites. What was most striking, however, was the difference between Italy and Switzerland. As one colleague later told me, as frustrating as living in Switzerland may be for someone not from here, you don’t fully appreciate it until you travel to other parts of Europe. I wholeheartedly agree.

Leave a Reply

