The Decade of my Life

Another decade is just about behind us. The 2000s have been an interesting decade for my own life, my family’s life and the world. It was just the other day that people were concerned about Y2K and the ramifications of the impending year 2000. And now, 2010 – and a whole new set of concerns. In the past decade I have started and finished college, completed law school, married, became a father of two beautiful girls, bought a house, began a career, made numerous friends and memories and have learned a lot about myself, life, relationships and many topics in between. In short, it has been a fulfilling decade. And while I still feel as if I have a ways to go in some areas of my life, I can look back to where I was on December 31, 1999 and remember what I wanted in life. In fact, if someone had asked me then where I wanted to be in ten years I would have been hard pressed to come up with more than my current reality: a wife I love, two great daughters, a stable job with room to grow, a house in New York, some money in the bank and a memorable ride along the way. The great thing is that thanks to my journal keeping habits I have every single day of this past decade recorded on paper. Where I want to be ten years from now is less clear in my mind than it was ten years ago. For me, that is the next step – a vision for December 31, 2019. If I know where I’m going, I am bound to get there.

Leave a Reply

