Hawaiian Memories

I recently watched a show where the final scene took place in Hawaii. At that moment, sitting in my couch at home, I missed Hawaii. Although I spent a relatively short period of time on Oahu, a part if me will forever appreciate and respect the beauty of the islands, the people, the culture and the overall lifestyle. I may never have a chance to live in Hawaii again, but I will not forget my three years there. My time as a student in Hawaii was some of the best of my life – I was in college, enjoying life with friends and had a bright future ahead of me. I also had the natural beauty of Hawaii everywhere I looked. If I had to choose, I would live near the ocean over the mountains any day. My wife feels exactly the opposite. She’s a mountain girl. I don’t profess to be a good swimmer or surfer or anything of the sort, but I do love the ocean, its vastness and its power. And occasionally, if the temperature is just right, I can close my eyes, sit back and be transported again to the North Shore of Oahu, where, at night, when the town had quieted down, I could hear the waves coming in on the shore. It was a magical place that I will never forget. Choosing to stay in Hawaii for the duration I did after considering leaving was one of the best decisions of my life. And because of that, I find myself missing my life there at times.

One Response

  1. Your post about Hawaii reminded me of wedding stuff (what doesn’t these days 😉 as we may be going there for our honeymoon. I remembered I needed to ask you when you and your family will be in Utah. I don’t have your number or I would call you. What day do you arrive and what time? We are trying to plan a family bridal shower on the 10th but we don’t want to interfere with your plans.

    Thanks, cousin! Excited to see you all.
    Katie

Leave a Reply

