Cabin Time

It may sound strange, but some of the most personal moments I have had in the past few years have happened while in flight traveling on my own. For most people, inside the cabin of a plane is the last place they wish to think, plan, read and write. But that is how I have used my time as I have traveled. I have especially enjoyed traveling at night, while the cabin lights are off, nothing but my music, thoughts and the orange lights of the small, nameless towns below. I don’t travel as often as many in my business (I still look forward to my trips, unlike many frequent travelers), but the time I’ve spent reading and catching up on emails and personal reflections will stay with me for a long time.

And now, as I write this, at exactly 33,948 feet above sea level in the back of a Virgin America flight to San Francisco, I am with a cabin of strangers alone with my thoughts. Just the way I like it.

Leave a Reply

