Quiet, Clean Space

I have a dream that one day I will have a clean house, nicely furnished, with some personal space, some peace and the time to enjoy such amenities. Since I was young I haven’t liked clutter or my personal belongings scattered around my living area. I’m not a clean freak, but maybe I am a tidy freak. I have found that, at times, kids can mean chaos and chaos, for me, equals stress, which equals impatience. This is something that I am trying to work on as I find myself increasingly in environments I can’t always control (namely when my strong willed kids are around). When my personal space is scattered, my mind is scattered. One way I have learned to deal with this is my use of lists at work and home. When there is a lot going on (like everyday), I make a list. When I complete an item on the list, I cross it off. It makes me feel productive and keeps my mind organized. I hope to one day be able to come home, relax in my personal space, maybe with some music on and unwind. But, perhaps, when that day comes, I may yearn for the days of the hustle and bustle of my young daughters.

Leave a Reply

