Just one more reason…

Here is one more reason to leave behind this city: the MTA. Yes, the Metropolitan Transit Authority not only raises fares almost year after year, but the service is getting worse as the equipment continues to get older. There is no doubt that the drastic winter weather of the past two months in the NYC area is somewhat to blame, but the MTA’s overall service is shameful. From my experience, other cities in the U.S. and throughout the world do a much better job at providing public transportation to its residents than in the NYC metro area. I don’t mind commuting, but I do mind how much my commute has been disrupted in the last few months. After almost seven years of riding Metro North trains daily, I feel as if I have no choice but to make a change. For those that have spoken with me lately, you’ll know that the MTA is just one of many reasons why I am looking to move. Overall cost of living, lifestyle and weather are just some of the other reasons pushing me out.

At this point we are seriously considering California, although that state doesn’t come free of issues and concerns. But the one benefit is that I can keep my job and transfer to the San Francisco office. If it weren’t for my job, California would probably be out of the question. If we pull off the move, I will have a commute there as well. But I look forward to my commute as the BART, Caltrain or ferries are generally free of delays and don’t have the equipment problems that I experience regularly in New York. So yes, I am fed up and we are trying to move. Stay tuned as to how it plays out.

Leave a Reply

