Pieces of me

I have lived in many great places in my life. And each place has become a part of me somehow. It’s difficult to imagine my life of 32 years without my youth in the Seattle area, my volunteer work spent in Japan, my college days in Hawaii, and my graduate school and early career in New York. Now I’m in California. And after just buying a house, it’s safe to say that I will be here for a while. I doubt that this will be the last place I ever live, but this is home for now. When I leave, there will be parts of California that will never leave me, just as there are pieces of me from every other location I have ever lived. The culture, the beliefs, the people you interact with, they all come together to form you. As I now raise my children here in California on this, my fourth father’s day weekend as a father, I can only pray that the influences around me in my new home support me to be a better father.