Parenting Thoughts

Being a dad of two young girls has been rewarding and challenging at the same time. But I often feel like I lose my patience with them, some times more quickly than others depending on the circumstances, of course. I try to think back to my parents and how they dealt with me when I was acting up at a young age. I have thought and thought about this and have come up blank. I have memories of being disciplined or lectured to while a teenager, but nothing sticks out from when I was, say, five or a bit older. There are a few explanations for this, I guess. Either I had great parents with endless patience, or I was a great kid. I tend to think it’s a bit of both.

Which makes me wonder what my kids will remember when they are grown. Will they, like me, have no negative memories imposed by  their parents from their early years, or am I leaving irreversible marks on their memory with my occasional short temper. Surely the only thing that’s certain is that patience will continue to be a necessary and tried virtue during this adventure.

Leave a Reply

