Soccer

I have been itching to play soccer for months now. The Euro 2012 Championship that is currently ongoing has hardly satisfied my hunger to get out there on the field and run up and down kicking a white ball around the grass trying to get it into the back of a net. But as I have watched soccer the past few weeks – the England game with the English, the Germany game with some Germans, and the Portugal game with my friend Sergio from Portugal – I am reminded of a time in 2002 during the World Cup in South Korea and Japan, when I was in college, where I had a similar experience. Then, I was able to watch Nigeria play with the Nigerians, the USA play with fellow Americans, and watch the pride of the Koreans as the team advanced far into the Cup on their home turf. There is no other sporting or bonding experience than a close soccer game, except perhaps getting out there and playing the beautiful game yourself.

Leave a Reply

