Four Years Later

After four years, I have decided to move on and have accepted a new job in San Francisco. I am excited about this new chapter in life, the people I’ll work with and the learning opportunity it presents. In fact, it was the learning opportunity that has made me pursue this new job that I am willfully taking a pay cut to perform. There will be a lot of things I will miss about my current job, to be sure, and especially the people, the free lunch, the international travel, the we-can-do-it attitude and more. But from a career perspective, I felt that it was time to move on. And I happily am. I told our general counsel last week that I am resigning and gave a gracious notice period because I was in a position to do so. Leaving was nothing personal, and I want to make it as smooth as possible, even if there is a lot to unwind and think about now for the powers-that-be in Switzerland.

And so here I am on this September 4, 2012. On this date in 2008 I joined my firm in the New York office, a small satellite office of a Swiss parent company, that had ambitious desires in the US. Now, exactly four years later, the firm should be proud of its presence in the US and the offices and staff it has built in New York and San Francisco. I am happy to say that within my sphere of influence, I was a big part of that and am personally satisfied that I am leaving my role and the overall legal and compliance program better than when I started. I harbor no notions that I am irreplaceable or that the firm will fall apart without me. The firm is smartly structured in a way that no one person can cause the collapse of a fund, office or business line. But whenever a chief compliance officer leaves a firm, it should cause all employees to do a double take and question why. Who knows whether that will be the case here for a majority of the people, but if asked, I have my reasons and am happy to share. Four years – not too long, not too short. The reality is that it has been just right.

Leave a Reply

