Lucky Enough

I spent some of last weekend at Pebble Beach Golf Course, in between Monterey and Carmel, on the beautiful Pacific Ocean. At the house we stayed at, there was a decorative sign on the wall that read, “If you’re lucky enough to have a house on Pebble Beach, then you’re lucky enough.”

Which got me thinking. In the world we live in, I am sometimes guilty of comparison, yet I live a life that some only dream of. I don’t dream of it, but I can imagine that some would. And so perhaps I should create my own sign to hang in my house to serve as a reminder. It would read, “If you’re lucky enough to have good health, a beautiful family, a job, a roof over your head and food to eat every day, then you’re lucky enough.” Perhaps that would put things in perspective for me and help to quash the constant comparison of what I perceive to be lacking from my life.

Leave a Reply

