Fitbit Nation

I received a Fitbit as a gift last July. July 18, 2015, to be exact. I have always liked to walk and found the idea of tracking my steps interesting enough to try it. Much to my surprise, I am still using that Fitbit on a daily basis. With the exception of a few trips out of town, I have worn my Fitbit literally everyday since. These are just a few random thoughts on the experience.

  • I have recorded more than 3.5 million steps since July 2015.
    • Yes, I know that some of the “steps” are just hand motions by way of washing dishes or wrestling kids, but for the most part, those steps are actual steps since I tend to do two walks a day during the week and am on my feet all day during the weekend.
    • Fitbit tells me that this is more than 1,600 miles, or the length of the Great Barrier Reef.
  • My daily average is around 13,000. My daily goal of 10,000 is usually obtained by early evening. The most steps achieved in one day was over 29,000.
  • My average sleep per night comes out to 6 hours and 34 minutes. This has been surprisingly consistent over almost the past year.
  • My Fitbit has changed my behavior at times, encouraging me to take the stairs or take the long way back.
  • My resting heart rate is consistently at 62 beats per minute.
  • My love of wristwatches has meant that I have continued to wear my watches on my left wrist and my Fitbit on my dominant right wrist. In other words, unlike most people, my Fitbit has not replaced my watch. Future fitness trackers or smart watches need to be much more compelling than current versions for me to stop wearing my low-tech, but reliable watches.
  • Since I am using the Charge HR model, I have appreciated the call notification function. A text notification on a smaller non-smart watch would also be helpful. Yet, related to the point above, I am not ready to upgrade to current smart watches for this feature alone.

The wearable market is still young and will evolve in the decade to come, but I have obviously found some utility in my Fitbit and am excited as to how wearable technology and the quantified self help me make future health decisions.

Leave a Reply

