Recognizing Happiness

Happiness comes not from having what you want, but from wanting what you have.

I am not sure where that saying is from, or who said it, but there is a lot of truth to that short quote. Recently I have felt antsy, like I am ready for a change, a move, a shake-up, a different place, crowd, or environment. I’ve felt this way before and I have done something about it, having moved my family a few times now. But I’m almost five years in to that once-new place, and I feel it again.

And the change will come, but I have to tell myself that now is not the right time. I need to put my head down, be happy with my abundance and many blessings, and get to work doing the right thing. I need to learn patience. And when the time is right, the change will come. Just like Sam Cooke sang, I know a change is gonna come. He was speaking about a different context, and bigger issues than those I deal with now, but Cooke’s song is still a good reminder to me. I have so much to be grateful for, so much to look forward to, so much to remember. The path ahead is bright.

The month of May starts tomorrow. The time is flying by, and it will pass anyway. So, as I write this to myself, I need to remember to be patient and enjoy the ride right now, in the situation, environment, place I’m in today. And remember, my four kids will never have this exact day again to be with and learn from their Dad.